A Love Letter to Mortal Online

Thread starter #1
Greetings, My ingame name was Boreya and I loved Mortal Online.

When I started playing this game in January of 2018, it was already experiencing hard times, but I didn't know it then. I had played MMOs with average 200-300 players, so I was used to low population. When I first created my character, I chose Morin Khur as the starting city. It was quite a surreal experience, There was nobody in this huge town. I would wander around in the streets, not knowing what to do. The ammount of skills in the skill tree was staggering and with each description I read, I would imagine all the amazing builds I could create. There's not many games where you can have this many options. After a while I remembered some NPC saying I could go to graveyard to make some money, so I did.. and I died... several times... It was frustrating, but it made me realize how truly harsh this world was. As I went down the graveyard however, I looked around and noticed interesting buildings and decided to explore around in the ghost form. I didn't stop there however and went further. It all felt weird, interesting and exciting. Exploration would later become a big part of why this game grabbed me