How do you save Mortal Online?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thread starter #1
I've been playing this game on and off for about 4 years now, mostly with the same small group of friends. The biggest attraction to this game for us has been the PvP, but also the community and the ability to impact it based on actions in game. That's mostly due to the smaller playerbase compared to other games, but this is also what threatens the game.

Even in places like Tindrem, PvP is very limited because of the low pop, with most of the day being extremely slow until certain peak times where there's still a lackluster variety of PvP going on. A whole lotta the same people and the same shenanigans. Everyone here knows what PvP is like outside of Tindrem, and how abysmal it is 9 times out of 10. With such a large map, and with such a low population, the game seems dead a lot of the time. I saw a post recently asking about what would bring back old players to MO, but I want to ask how we could bring new players in.

Its in my opinion that we need new players willing to explore the game and give it a new spark of life. I can confidently say that a new player learns little to nothing and gains the same amount of incentive to keep playing during their fledgling period. They are flooded with walls of text and information that takes a lot of time to learn if they even bother to try right off the bat. Help chat does help, but new players have a lot of hurdles to get past before they find out what stuff makes the game fun.

Once newbies start learning about the game, most of the time they'll have to reroll their characters because they've made bad decisions in character creation and have an unviable toon theyve invested hours in, and will have to repeat everything they've done thus far. This would definitely have made me want to quit had I not had a friend to guide me along as I learned how to play.